LEFT HAND THUMB POSITION

The Bass Player's Toolbox
definite
Gold Member
Bands / Groups: HANGMAN, THE FUNKY NORTH, DJ DEFINITE, THE REALISTICS

LEFT HAND THUMB POSITION

Post by definite » Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:38 pm

Okay so I've gathered that 'good' technique requires one to anchor the left hand with the left thumb always squarely behind the neck ie. not letting the thumb go 'over the edge'

However, probably 40-50% of the time I use my thumb to mute the E string or I just find myself doing it 'naturally' (although I admit it may just be a bad habit/ poor technique thing!)

How strict would you say this rule is when it comes to technique? Im the first to admit that I'm self taught and have quite likely developed some terrible habits over the years (which I'm determined to fix), but yeah what do ya'll say?

john
Gold Member

Re: LEFT HAND THUMB POSITION

Post by john » Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:51 pm

I often have my thumb on the E string too. And quite often move it down to what ever the string is above the one I am playing .
Or I just rest it on the pickup if I am using the E string a lot.
I am self taught too. I may have bad technique, But if your hand isn't clamping up and you sound consistent (...not consistently crap :mrgreen: ) ) What does it matter

alanp
Bronze Member
Bands / Groups: Frankencopter

Post by alanp » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:17 pm

john wrote:I often have my thumb on the E string too. And quite often move it down to what ever the string is above the one I am playing .
Or I just rest it on the pickup if I am using the E string a lot.
I am self taught too. I may have bad technique, But if your hand isn't clamping up and you sound consistent (...not consistently crap :mrgreen: ) ) What does it matter
- You must have really big hands!